No Flowers?

It’s true.  Mr. Whale and I have decided to have a flowerless wedding.  In some sense, this makes things a lot easier.  Flowers are pretty dang expensive.  When I told one of my married bridesmaids that we probably weren’t having flowers, she wholeheartedly supported the decision, saying, “I totally understand. When our florist gave us a quote, I said, ‘They cost how much? And they DIE?!?!'”

It’s incredible really.  I think flowers are amazingly beautiful, but I wanted a band instead of a DJ, and giving up flowers is what made room for that decision.

So, going flowerless saves money (potentially).  But, it also opens the door to so many other options.  I decided that I should first work on my bouquet. And WOW, there are SO MANY bouquet options.

My brooch bouquet

Brooch bouquet (Image from WeddingBee!!)

fabric bouquet - almost done! :  wedding bouquet diy fabric flowers Flower2

Fabric bouquet (Image from WeddingBee!! Thanks, Bees!)

0114-first-kiss_we.jpg

Button Bouquet! (Image from Glamour)

Paper flower bouquet (Image from Capitol Romance)

Felt Flower Bouquet (Image from Poptastic Bride)

And of course I can’t leave out this beauty (which I fell in love with before I knew that it belonged to Mrs. FroYo):

Pinned Image

I would reeeeeeally love to do a candy bouquet.  But I’m afraid it’ll just end up being a sticky disaster.  Plus… it seems really hard.  For any of these non-flower bouquets, there’s always the option of ordering it on Etsy or having it made.  But the point was to save money :)  So I’m trying to find one that I can DIY.

For the purposes of saving money, I think the brooch bouquet is out.  My family doesn’t have any brooches just lying around.  And they’re a little expensive unless you’re completely dedicated to searching consignment stores for cheap ones.

I think what I’d like to do is make a bouquet with both buttons and fabric flowers.  I’ve made a few trips to Michael’s and JoAnn Fabrics (my go to wedding supply stores), and buttons are very easy to find and not too expensive.  I think I’ll head out to get some supplies so that I can have something to show the hive within the next few days!

Did I miss anything?  Anything I should know before I set out to make my own bouquet?

One thought on “No Flowers?

  1. Pingback: A First Attempt at DIY Button Bouquets | My Big Colorful Wedding

Leave a Reply

