The Hunt for Apothecary Jars

Honestly, it feels stupid to write a post about apothecary jars.  And yet, it also somehow feels necessary.  Are you planning on having a candy buffet?  Well, then you’ve undoubtedly seen many adorable images of others’ buffets.

Pinned Image

Frickin cutest candy bar ever. (Image from C.R.A.F.T.)

Jars in cool shapes. (Image from Koyal Wholesale)

Because my wedding theme is kind of revolving around candy, I basically have to have a candy buffet 🙂  And I have seriously been on the hunt for these dang apothecary jars for months now!

Now, I’m not talking about the simple cylindrical ones.  I’ve been able to find those relatively easily.  But the fancy shapes are hard to come by.  And when I did find them, they were expensive!  Target, my go-to store (they don’t really have too many Wal-Marts out here on the East Coast), had one, but it’s $25!

Threshold™ Medium Apothecary Jar - Clear

Medium Apothecary Jar from Target

Unacceptable!  If I want four jars, that’s already $100!! You might be thinking, “You crazy girl. You don’t need special jars to have a candy buffet.”  Of course I don’t.  But it’s still several months until my wedding, so I wasn’t going to throw in the towel until things got much closer.  Lucky for me (and lucky for you, because I’m going to share my info), I found them!!

The Knot’s Wedding Shop sells apothecary jars.  The prices aren’t really that great at first glance. BUT, if you get their e-mails, you’ll know that they have sales all the time.  I bought the beauty below for $6 during a sale.

Apothecary Candy Jar

Image from The Knot

And this one was only $10.  It’s not free, but it’s better than $25.

Ornate Apothecary Jar

Image from The Knot

I also found several different sizes and styles at my local Michael’s.  I so wish that you could shop online through Michael’s, but unfortunately you can’t at the moment 😦  But if your store carries the jars, then all you have to do is go online and get one of their 40 or 50 percent off coupons, and you’ve got yourself a cheap apothecary jar!  Just for fun, here’s another I found.

Kmart and Sears both sell this set of three for $30. (These were not stores that came to mind at first, but sometimes you just don’t see it coming.)

Image from Sears

Sharing is caring, so I’m thrilled to share my finds with the hive.  Now I just have to find the right candy…

2 thoughts on “The Hunt for Apothecary Jars

  1. Pingback: Shopping Online | My Big Colorful Wedding

  2. I love your post! Just wanted to tell you that! Because even though some people may think its unnecesarry i have found your tips so helpful! I am planning a wedding and I want to have a candy bar also but those jars at regular price are so pricey!! Thank you so much for your help!

Leave a Reply

