The Second Dress

I adore my dress.  I’d say that I pull up a picture of it about… maybe once a week.  Don’t remember what it is?  Well, I’ve got a picture on hand.

Image from Lis Simon

The end.  Just wanted to look at my dress again.

Just kidding 🙂  So, why am I posting about my dress again?  I don’t have dress regret.  But what I do have is a little bit of anxiety about dress comfort.  You may or may not recall that this lovely dress is constructed with a whopping forty yards of fabric.  That makes it weigh in at around ten pounds.

I’m not too worried about the weight itself.  But I am a little worried about overheating in the dress.  You see, we chose a venue that doesn’t have air conditioning…  This probably won’t be an issue (everyone cross your fingers for me).  In fact, I’ve heard of several brides getting married there in July, and if they lived, surely I’ll make it through my May wedding.  But I can’t stop thinking about how miserable I’ll be if it ends up being ninety degrees on our wedding day and I’m dripping with sweat and horribly uncomfortable.

The solution? A back-up dress.  It’s been on my mind for several months, but I didn’t really know what to do about it.  Where would I get this dress? Should it be long? short? What color?  Then, MOH L came to visit me a few weekends ago and we ended up heading to David’s Bridal to look for a bridesmaid dress for her.  And I knew exactly what I was going to do.

I’ve been dying to try on one of the Vera Wang bridesmaid dresses. You know, the ones from Gossip Girl:

Image from Gossip Girl and Coco Perez

In fact, I’d been considering buying it in grey for the rehearsal dinner, but our dinner is going to be very casual, so I had to say goodbye to that idea.  This left me free to consider it as a reception dress.  So I put it on, and let me tell you – it’s perfect!

008

I honestly hope that I don’t have to change out of my amazing ten-pound dress.  But if I do, I’m super pumped to have a fabulous back-up dress.  (Plus, now I have a dress to wear on our anniversary. Win!)

Did anyone else have a back-up dress or a second dress?  Did you end up wearing it, or did you stay with the original all night?

Leave a Reply

