“I know of a barn that’s falling down.”

That’s a direct quote from Mama Whale when I asked her where she thought we could get some wood to make cute signs for the wedding.

I’ve had that picture saved for months, and I knew my mom could help me out with making it come to life.  And it’s just like my mom to say, “I know of a barn that’s falling down,” when I ask where we should get the wood.

So last Thursday while I was at my parents’ house, we set out on a little adventure.  Upon arrival at the location of this falling down barn, Mama Whale decided that maybe we should ask permission before just wandering around someone’s property.  So naturally, I sat in the car while she did the dirty work.

112

Pretty soon, a man appeared with his scary guard dog. (Just kidding. He had a chihuahua. It was very cute.)  When asked if we could take some wood, he said, “I’m just renting the place. Take whatever you want. I don’t care.”

Nice.

So Mama Whale did the dirty work again and gathered up some wood while I documented the moment. (I helped a little, but I can’t do much since one arm is gimpy.)

113

Then we went home and knocked out these bad boys.

115

122

175

121

Seriously, this was the EASIEST diy project I’ve ever done. (Granted, I haven’t attached them to stakes or put them in the ground yet, but that’s what dads are for, right?) 🙂  It took maybe 10 or 15 minutes tops for each sign (and that’s me painting with my arm in a cast, so I was a little slow). I used an old cheapo paintbrush I found lying around the house and some ninety-nine cent acrylic paint. One coat. Bam. Done.

Total cost for four signs: ONE DOLLAR!!  (Okay, let’s make it two dollars, because I’m going to need some nails… ) But whatever, that’s about fifty cents and fifteen minutes per sign.) Best. DIY. Ever.

You’re welcome. Anyone else make some rockin signs?

Leave a Reply

