My DIY Makeup

I spent a while trying to come up with a creative title, but… I couldn’t.  At least you now know what I’m about to talk about.

Creative Eye Makeup

My wedding make-up. J/k. But I wish this look was appropriate for something in my life. (Image from Style Indeed)

I spent a while debating whether I would get my make-up professionally done for the big day.  You can’t spend much time browsing the wedding sections of the internet without seeing the praises of airbrushed make-up.  I don’t think there is a soul who will tell you that they regret making the decision to go that route.  But, as the title told you, I ultimately decided against it.  Why?

For one, that stuff is EXPENSIVE!! I am not prepared to shell out over a hundred dollars for my wedding day make-up.

More importantly, I have come to the realization that I don’t trust my make-up to anyone but me.  I’ve been wearing make-up since I was thirteen.  I love the stuff.  Even when I was a kid, I was totally “that kid” who put on all her mom’s make-up while no one was paying attention. (And I looked good. Okay, probably not… but I felt like I was super cool.) I can’t really explain it, but I just really enjoy putting on my make-up.  It’s relaxing in the morning.  It’s a nice creative outlet (I like to get a little crazy with my eyeshadow sometimes).  And I have no qualms with having to take it all off at night.

I went ahead and did my own make-up for our engagement photos and I think it turned out just fine.

IMG_1215

Photo by the incredible Brenda Upton Photography

After getting the pictures back, I was sold on doing only DIY make-up.  But I did decide I needed to jazz it up a little for our wedding.  My cheeks look a little pale in the engagement photos, and my lips are definitely lacking color.  PLUS, I needed to try out my fake lashes.  Here’s what I came up with!

011

Welcome to my apartment!

Funny story.  Mr. Whale saw me putting the falsies on and argued against them.  His argument? “What if I’m so distracted by your fake eyelashes during the ceremony that I can’t concentrate?”  (Men are funny sometimes) 🙂

I told him I’d think about it.  And then, I thought I’d test his theory.  So when I got home one day before he did, I slapped on my falsies before he made it home.  Want to know how long it took him to notice my falsh eyelashes?  Try never.  He never noticed I had them on.  Men… pshhh.  🙂

So overall, I’m pretty pleased with my make-up.  But I am a little undecided on one tiny little thing.  I can’t decide whether to use eyeliner on my bottom lid.  The first picture has no lower lid liner.  And this next one has it:

019

That’s Mr. Whale on the phone! Everyone say, “Hi, Mr. Whale!”

What do you think?  Do I need to make any changes?  And do I have other DIY make-up bees out there?  Were you happy with doing your own make-up?

2 thoughts on “My DIY Makeup

  1. Pingback: My DIY Makeup: The Products | My Big Colorful Wedding

  2. Pingback: My DIY Makeup: The Products |

Leave a Reply

