Cupcakes!!

Last time I told you that, despite my childhood fantasies of an epic wedding cake, we just couldn’t fit it into the budget.  So instead, we decided to jump on the cupcake bandwagon.

Honestly, I’m much less sad about having to give our cake the axe than I expected.  These days, a giant display of cupcakes can look so epic.

Giant cupcake on top? Yes, please. Image from Clyde’s Cupcake Magic.

Who wouldn’t want a six-foot tower of cake??

Luckiest couple alive. Image from Clyde’s Cupcake Magic.

The main issue for us was figuring out who would make these delicious goodies.  Luckily, I worked in a quick tasting while I was in the Atlanta-area for my dress fitting in March.

Melissa (of Melissa’s Custom Cakes) invited us to do a tasting in her bakery, which turns out to be run completely out of her basement. (I now want a bakery in my own basement. But first, I need a basement. Wait, first I need a house.  Anyway… I loved it.)  It was pouring rain and we ended up being an hour late, but we eventually made it there and each of us (me, my mom, and my aunt) were greeted with this:

106

Before out meeting, Melissa asked me what I would like to sample.  I requested:

  1. Yellow Cake with Chocolate Frosting and Bavarian Cream Filling
  2. Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting and Bavarian Cream Filling
  3. Chocolate Cake with Buttercream Frosting and White Chocolate Mouse Filling
  4. Yellow Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting and Lemon Filling

YUM!  They were all delicious.  But Melissa suggested that we choose no more than three flavors for our wedding.  Apparently, people will want to eat multiple flavors when they find out you have multiples, so the more flavors you get, the more cupcakes you need.  (Makes sense… After all, I plan to eat as many cupcakes as possible.)

This is where things get a little difficult.  Mr. Whale wants the yellow cake so bad, because yellow cake with chocolate frosting is his favorite cake. It’s the one I care about the least, BUT of course he can have his favorite cake at our wedding.  Then I said we would certainly have the red velvet.  Mr. Whale was like, “But not that many people like red velvet.”  To this, I said, “Seriously?? Have you ever been to a cupcake shop. It’s the biggest thing since sliced bread.”  (What I should have said was what Emma Stone said…)

And Emma Stone had this sage advice about what to do when faced with red velvet cake:

Image from Buzzfeed

That’s right. I’ll eat my red velvet cupcake.  Okay, so that’s two flavors.  Then we were left with either chocolate or lemon.  And I know what you’re thinking… “Go with the chocolate!!”  I know, I love chocolate too.  But… I am a serious lemon lover.  Mr. Whale doesn’t care at all about lemon.  But… he’s getting the yellow cake, which I didn’t care about at all.  So we’re still up in the air about this one.  But to settle a few debates, I’ll send the questions to the hive.  So tell me…

Leave a Reply

