Learning about Myself

Planning a wedding teaches you a lot about your personality.  Are you a planner, like Miss Palm Tree? Or are you a do-er?  Are you super laid back? Or are you a perfectionist?  Do you rise to the challenge? Or do you shut down in the wake of mounting stress?

image

How I sometimes feel when I think of what I need to do for the wedding.

I have no idea exactly how to classify myself neatly, but I do know that planning my wedding has taught me that I’m some strange combination of perfectionist, planning-obsessed, laid back about details, and ridiculously crazy anxious.

Some days, I’m not sure what possessed me to think that I would be okay with planning a big wedding.  Don’t get me wrong.  I reeeeeeally want a big super fun wedding.  I just don’t want to be in charge of making it super fun.  Mr. Whale could tell you that I get a little panicky when we have people over at our apartment.  It’s much easier now that Mr. Whale and I live together.  But when it was just me, I would never have people over.  And that’s not because I don’t like people.  I just feel panicked at the idea of keeping them entertained.

This is all very strange, because I am probably one of the easiest people in the world to entertain.  If you invite me to your house and then have me sit on the couch while you do the dishes, I’m perfectly content.  Want to go out to eat?  I’m not a picky eater.  I’m basically entertained just by being around other people.

For me, making the choices that I (or we) want has been a very hard part of planning our wedding.  Because I tend to be very go-with-the-flow, I’m not usually the person making plans.  I just agree to do whatever everyone else wants to do.  (I’m not totally spineless, I promise.  I do offer my opinion on occasion.)  But for our wedding, I feel like it’s finally time for me to say, “This is what I want to do,” or, “This is what Mr. Whale and I want to do.”

But even harder than making the choice is standing behind it. It’s hard for me to accept that not everyone is going to like everything that I choose.  Not everyone wants an 80s dance party.  But I sure do.  So we’re having one.

I’ve been working on this move. (from sluniverse)

image

And this one. (from Niketalk)

I guess I just need to accept that not everyone will think our wedding is the perfect wedding.  As long as they have a good time and we enjoy ourselves, it’s exactly what I want.

Did other struggle with trying to do what you want while also trying to make others happy? (Even if no one else asked you to do anything specifically…)

 

One thought on “Learning about Myself

  1. Pingback: It’s not too late for a little DIY! | My Big Colorful Wedding

Leave a Reply

