I Whale Always Love You: Braids of Glory

This is completely non-wedding-related, but I love a good hair pun.  Before we get to looking at my wedding hair, can we all have a good chuckle at these awesome puns I found?

Image from Buzzfeed

Image from Buzzfeed

hair-razors

This one is a personal photo, y’all! Spotted in Vancleave, MS

This Food Tastes a Little Bunny

In case you prefer hare puns instead of hair puns.

I could find so many more, but you’re probably laughing too hard to handle any more, right? 🙂

So, my wedding hair. Right. You may or may not remember that I first envisioned my hair all the way up with some braids.  At some point, I decided that maybe a low up-do might be better.  Since a lot of other brides also want a low updo, I had a much easier time finding inspiration for this hairstyle. (But I still couldn’t find the “perfect” hairstyle…)

In March, I did a quick trial with Ashley, because I was in town for a dress fitting.  It wasn’t quite what I was looking for, but we had a good idea of what I wanted.

102

Ignore that long piece. We hadn’t decided what to do with it yet.

We did another trial on Thursday before the wedding, when Ashley highlighted and trimmed my hair.  We got even closer to my vision.  But I have no pictures (sorry!).  Then came the wedding day.

Because we were in a cabin, there was no way for me to see what Ashley was doing (no mirror in the kitchen).  But after only about twenty minutes of being in the chair, one of my bridesmaids walked by and yelled, “Oh my god!! Your hair looks amazing!!”  This kept up for another fifteen minutes or so and the girls trickled in and out of the rooms they were getting ready in to see my hair.  I was so excited to see the finished product that I almost couldn’t stand it.  When I finally got to see the back, I was blown away.

hair-back

Look at the fun braids!! Want to see the sides??

hair-right

hair-left

And the front??

hair-front

Perfection.  Ashley did a fabulous job!!  I couldn’t be happier with how it turned out.

And in case it wasn’t clear, Ashley was a friendor. (Actually, she’s Mr. Whale’s ex-girlfriend! We’re all good friends now.)  But if you live in the Atlanta area and want her to do your hair (or if you want an awesome cut and color), check her out at Godiva Salon in Buckhead.

With my hair and make-up done, it was almost time to head out to the place where I was getting married!! Eeeeeeee!!

bluewhalenohearts

If you missed any part of this whale of a tale, get caught up here.  Previously…

3 thoughts on “I Whale Always Love You: Braids of Glory

  1. Pingback: I Whale Always Love You: Let’s Get Started | My Big Colorful Wedding

  2. Pingback: I Whale Always Love You: Bridesmaids in the Spotlight | My Big Colorful Wedding

  3. Pingback: Where I Splurged and Where I Saved | My Big Colorful Wedding

Leave a Reply

