I Whale Always Love You: The Girls Feast

Oh man. We’re getting really close to the ceremony now.  But I’ve got just a couple more things to share with you before we get there.

Alright, so from about 4:45 on, I was locked away in the bridal suite (which was basically a super cute teeny tiny fake house) so guests (and Mr. Whale!) wouldn’t see me.  The ceremony was at 6:00pm, so we had some time to kill.  Based on experience, I knew that my bridesmaids might be itching for a snack at this point. I really didn’t want to have to deal with the logistics of a snack, though, so I took the opportunity to delegate. (I could really get used to this delegating thing.  Can I be a bride all the time??) I asked MOH Leah if she would take care of the food.  And then Leah delegated to her mom (which was a wise choice, because she always comes through when food is involved).

bridesmaids-snacking

Personal Photo

I know some brides have champagne at a time like this, but we were just ready for some Diet Pepsi. (I now feel the need to sing, “You’ve got the right one baby. UH HUH.”)

And can we check out the spread! Mini eclairs. Pretzel Flips. Wheat thins. Lays. I’m so hungry right now just looking at it.  And I’m still in awe of the fact that I absolutely was not hungry the day of the wedding.  I knew I should eat something, so I managed some grapes.  (What a pathetic little snack for a bride. I should be ashamed of myself.)

But even though this bride wasn’t hungry, the girls dug in.  They were so ready for food that they took off their dresses. (Say what?)  These ladies couldn’t be bothered with being worried about a potential spill.  Sometimes food is a priority, and you just decide, “Eff it. I’m changing out of this dress so I can eat what I want.”

Actually, oddly enough, I also took this time to do a little rearranging of my dress.  I felt like the dress wasn’t sitting exactly where I wanted it to.  I wanted it a smidgen higher up.  But once the dress was on and zipped, it would not budge.  Believe me, I tried to adjust it.  It was going neither up nor down.  But since we had over an hour, I decided we could undo it, move it up a little, and refasten everything.  Yes, that means refastening alllll those tiny little buttons.  But wait. That also meant we had to unfasten allllll those tiny little buttons.  I have heard that those tiny buttons have foiled many a groom trying to get the wedding dress off his bride at the end of the evening.  But I’m here to tell you that almost every bride has the perfect tool already in her possession at that moment. Bobby pins!!  Yep, use the bobby pins like a hook and you’ll have the buttons undone in no time. You’re welcome.

Once we were all cozy and comfortable, we had a delightful time in our little bridal house.  Even though I couldn’t bring myself to participate in the food extravaganza, I still had a fabulous time hanging out with these ladies.  There was a lot of laughter and probably (okay, definitely) some inappropriate stories told.

But while we were closed off from the rest of the world, there was a bit of a disaster going on outside. What was happening?  Stay tuned…

I Whale Always Love You: Our Wedding Video Sneak Peek! :  wedding college park pictures pro pics recap Bluewhalenohearts.jpg

If you missed any part of this whale of a tale, get caught up here. Previously…

Leave a Reply

