I Whale Always Love You: Family Time

When Mr. Whale was done hugging everyone in sight, Brenda motioned for us to get in place for some family photos.  I’m going to be real with you guys.  I really didn’t care about the family photos.  I remember reading that Mrs. Sword allotted one hour for her family photos.  I carved out ten minutes.

BUT… it turns out that I really love our family photos.  Prior to the wedding, I honestly thought, “I don’t really care about the family photos. What am I going to do with them??”  But now that I’m on the other side, my opinion has changed.  I think it’s similar to my opinion of veils.  I was so opposed to having one.  But then I put it on and fell in love.  And I had to have a veil.  My opinion of family photos changed in a similar way.  When it was our day and our family, it made all the difference in the world.  So if you’re like me, make sure you get some family photos even if you think you won’t care about them.  Because you might end up liking them 🙂

Our Wedding!!! 421

The first group we called up was all of Mr. Whale’s family that was at the wedding.  If you can believe it, this is just a fraction of his family.  Mr. Whale’s father has eight brothers and sisters, many of whom have kids (and many of those kids have kids!).  There are even two sets of twins.  Can you believe that pretty little lady on the first row birthed nine children?!?! Whoa.

From there, we iterated on a few different versions of more immediate family.  Mr. Whale’s parents are divorced but very amicable, so we had all the combinations: us with mom and dad, us with dad and stepmom, us with mom… you get the idea.  Here’s one such photo.

Our Wedding!!! 424

Matt’s mom and her boyfriend on the left; Matt’s dad and stepmom and brother on the right

A word to the wise… Mr. Whale’s stepmom was a bit sad that no one told her that her transition lenses were darkened.  So if you’ve got family members with transition lenses, let them know that they may want to take their glasses off.

With Mr. Whale’s family done and free to head over to cocktail hour, my family stepped up to the plate.

Our Wedding!!! 427

This is basically my entire family, minus one grandmother.  It’s quite a bit different from Mr. Whale’s family, no?

Our Wedding!!! 428

I absolutely adore this photo.  It was my mom’s idea.  We’ve got three generations of women here.  It’s especially meaningful to me, because my grandmother was recently diagnosed with a pretty serious illness, and it’s truly a miracle that she was able to make it to my wedding at all.

Our Wedding!!! 429

I grabbed a quick photo with my aunt.  We look alike, don’t we?!?  When my mom, my aunt, and I go places, everyone always thinks my aunt is my mom.  Since she doesn’t have kids of her own, she really is like a second mom to me!

And the final family photo was of my brother and me.  We’re not really known for our seriousness, so this happened.

Our Wedding!!! 433

But then we decided we’d better have a serious photo so that my parents can display it 🙂

Our Wedding!!! 434

As much as I do look like my aunt, I look absolutely nothing like my brother.  Crazy, right?

It turns out that ten minutes was actually the perfect amount of time for all these photos.  Then it was time for some photo fun with the wedding party!

Anyone else end up loving a photo that you thought you wouldn’t care about??

*All photos by the spectacular Brenda Upton Photography.

I Whale Always Love You: So Many Hugs! :  wedding college park pictures pro pics recap Bluewhalenohearts.jpg

If you missed any part of this whale of a tale, get caught up here. Previously…

One thought on “I Whale Always Love You: Family Time

  1. Pingback: I Whale Always Love You: The Wedding Party Poses | My Big Colorful Wedding

Leave a Reply

