I Whale Always Love You: The Luckiest

At the end of the toasts, Mr. Whale and I had a special surprise for our guests.  We both love the song “The Luckiest” by Ben Folds.  (It’s so good, right?)  We almost had it somewhere else in our wedding.  But… Mr. Whale bought me the piano sheet music as a gift several months before the wedding.  And so, it just made sense that we should play it ourselves at the wedding.

I was pretty excited to get up there and play…

Our Wedding!!! 615

Mr. Whale said a few words first.  And they might be some of my favorite words spoken at the wedding.  (Okay, I have a “favorite moment” just about every 10 minutes.  But I can’t choose!! They’re all my favorite.)

“I know everyone says this is the happiest day of their lives. But I’ve been on awesome roller coasters and been to the Mexican beaches, all in the last year, and this is the funnest thing I’ve ever done. Is that normal??”

He got a lot of laughs and some head nods that it is pretty normal 🙂  Then he said some other nice things and basically set us up to play the song.

(Please don’t judge us too hard if you watch the video. I haz feelingz too…  We didn’t have any opportunity to practice once we got to Georgia, so I hadn’t played any piano at all in almost a week.  And Matt hadn’t sung at all the whole day! (Though I think he still sounds wonderful, as usual.))

If you don’t know the song, I’ll take you through the lyrics here.

I don’t get many things right the first time
In fact, I am told that a lot
Now I know all the wrong turns
The stumbles and falls brought me here

And where was I before the day
That I first saw your lovely face?
Now I see it every day

And I know
That I am
I am
I am
The luckiest

Our Wedding!!! 619

What if I’d been born 50 years before you
In a house on the street where you live?
Maybe I’d be outside as you passed on your bike
Would I know?

And in a wide sea of eyes
I see one pair that I recognize

And I know
That I am
I am
I am
The luckiest

Our Wedding!!! 620

The only time I make a serious face is when I’m playing piano…

I love you more than I have
Ever found a way to say to you

Our Wedding!!! 617

Next door there’s an old man who lived to his 90s
And one day passed away in his sleep
And his wife, she stayed for a couple of days
And passed away

I’m sorry, I know that’s
A strange way to tell you
That I know we belong

That I know
That I am
I am
I am
The luckiest

If you’ve watched the video, you got to see the hilarious ending to the song.  Everything was so touching, and then I wailed on a horribly wrong note at the very end (literally, the very last note).  But apparently, all our guests thought it was hilarious.  And some people even thought we planned it!!  (I don’t know what that says about the quality of our playing…)

All in all, I’m pretty happy we decided to include it in our reception.  I thought it was time to move on to the dance party portion of the reception, but there was one more thing that took me by surprise. Stay tuned to find out what.

*All photos by the super fabulous Brenda Upton Photography. All videos by the super fantastic Hammond Studios (and chopped unartistically into clips by me).

I Whale Always Love You: Toasts, Toasts, and More Toasts :  wedding college park pictures pro pics recap Bluewhalenohearts

If you missed any part of this whale of a tale, get caught up here. Previously…

One thought on “I Whale Always Love You: The Luckiest

  1. Pingback: I Whale Always Love You: Don’t Worry, I’ll Catch You | My Big Colorful Wedding

Leave a Reply

