After the Wedding: The Most Memorable Part of the Blue Whale Wedding

The theme of this series is to talk about your most memorable thing, object, or event from your wedding. I’ve given it a lot of thought, and I’m going to go completely traditional.

It’s our rings.

Wedding Rings

 

I wanted to be able to say something totally unique that no one has ever thought of before, but truthfully, our rings remind me each and every day of our vows and our marriage. I didn’t expect for the rings to be so powerful, but they truly are.

I love seeing Mr. Whale with his ring on. I notice it far more than I ever thought I would. In fact, when I got our wedding photos back, I actually noticed when I could see his ring in the pictures. It gave me a little thrill to see that declaration that we were committed to each other.

Spring Wedding at Southern Tree Plantation

 

Mr. Whale and I also decided together on what we would say when we exchanged rings. We memorized it so that we wouldn’t have to be prompted. And I still remember what I said.

“Matt, I give you this ring as an unending gift to wear with joy. I choose you to be my husband today and forever.”

Exchanging Wedding Rings - Southern Tree Plantation Wedding

 

Now, if I’m to be completely honest, I have to tell you the full truth about why our wedding rings are so important to me.

It’s because I lost mine.

Yes, it’s true. During our trip to the Canadian Rockies this spring, I lost it. We think I lost it on a hike. But I’m not sure. What I know for sure is that it’s gone. And I didn’t know how much it meant to me until there was absolutely no way to get it back. I cried. I sobbed. For hours. (And I am not the crying type.)

We bought a new ring. It’s exactly the same as my original, except it’s not the one I wore during our wedding ceremony. And that’s sad. But I cherish my new ring. I never hardly ever forget to put it on in the morning, because those few months without my ring were terrible. And because I think of my ring more often, I think of my marriage more often. And that’s a wonderful thing to be reminded of.

Leave a Reply

