The Secret Life of Bees: Blue Whale Edition

One of my all time favorite bee theme posts is the secret life of bees.  While some have struggled to come up with odd tidbits about their life, Mr. Whale and I are full of strange quirks.  You already know about a few of them, like our manatee obsession.  But hopefully I’ll show you a few new things today.  So what do you not already know?

I’m kind of obsessed with Hello Kitty

Here I am with Hello Kitty in Las Vegas!

Okay, maybe obsessed isn’t the right word, but I do love Hello Kitty, perhaps more than a woman in her twenties should.  But honestly, why is it that only children are allowed to love bright colors and cute cartoon cats?  I think she’s cute too!  Lucky for me, Mr. Whale has been very accommodating to my love for Hello Kitty and allows her to appear all over our apartment.  After a brief run through the apartment, I found… a Hello Kitty snuggie, a Hello Kitty robe, a Hello Kitty shower cap, a Hello Kitty make-up bag, a Hello Kitty bag inside my purse, a Hello Kitty t-shirt, Hello Kitty pajamas, two Hello Kitty school binders, Hello Kitty ice packs, and five plush versions of Hello Kitty herself.  I almost bought a Hello Kitty ukelele just because it was so darn cute.  Mr. Whale is bummed that I didn’t buy it. (That’s not sarcasm. He really is an awesome dude.)

This graduation card is sitting on my desk.  Mr. Whale drew it for me! Isn’t he talented?

Our Wedding!!! 706

Hello Kitty even made it to the wedding!

 

I am always making silly faces.

For some reason, my coping method for dealing with awkward situations is to make silly faces.  I’m pretty shy around certain people, so if we end up trapped in a room together and I can’t think of anything to say, I usually just make weird faces.  Does it make the situation any less awkward? Definitely not.  It probably makes it more awkward.  But I can’t stop.

Making a stupid face and modeling my Hello Kitty shower cap. (Note: This is not how I usually wear the shower cap.)

In celebration of my silly faces, I once made my own “Today I Feel…” magnet set for Mr. Whale on his birthday.

IMAG0510

 

When I was a kid, I wanted to be Penny from Inspector Gadget

For real.  And I didn’t just want to be her.  I decided that I just was her.  I even tried to make my parents call my Penny.  And I started signing my name as Penny.  Apparently, I thought I could just change my identity that easily.  Silly me.  But seriously, she was so cool!

Here I am dressed as Penny for Halloween a few years ago.  Grown up Penny drinks Shiner Bock 🙂

I LOVE reading.

If one could officially be diagnosed with and addiction to reading, I would be the first in treatment.  I have had a library card in every single city in which I’ve ever lived.  I even had a library card when I lived in Paris for just eight weeks.  I devour books.  All books.  I’m not too picky about the genre.  As long as the book entertains me, I’m in.

Let me tell you a little story that will illuminate my obsessive reading.  A few years ago, Mr. Whale decided he would like to start reading the Harry Potter series.  A very excited Miss Blue Whale bought him the first book.  And then I was jealous of him reading Harry Potter.  So I got out my own books and started re-reading the series.  And I was so into it that I reread the entire series before he finished the first book.  Yes, you read that right.  I read all seven books before he finished the first.  I have a problem.

And please feed my problem.  If you have book recommendations, please let me know!! I always need new books.  Here are some of my favorites:

  • Can You Keep a Secret by Sophie Kinsella
  • The BFG by Roald Dahl (Who doesn’t love Roald Dahl??)
  • The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss
  • The Hunger Games trilogy (yeah, teen fiction!)
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  • Watermelon by Marian Keyes
  • Anything by Lisa Gardner

I have A LOT of footwear.

I don’t mean that I have a lot of shoes (though my collection is not too shabby).  No, I mean footwear.  As in, shoes, tights, socks, and (if you’ll allow me to include it in this category) leg-warmers.  In the last ten years, I have literally never worn a pair of plain white socks, except to go to the gym.  Colors only, please.  If I wear a skirt, I almost always wear tights (and I sometimes wear my tights with leg-warmers).  I also don’t wear shoes without socks.  I’m that girl wearing ballet flats with polka dot socks, and while it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, I rock it.  Luckily for me, Mr. Whale grew up in the eighties and somehow decided that all those eighties bright colors were super sexy.  He loves my tights and requests that I wear them more often.

Standard outfit for me.

Here’s a little snapshot of my tights drawer.  Yes, I have a tights drawer.  I also have a sock drawer, a separate bin for black and gray tights, a separate bin for trouser-type socks, and a separate bin for leg-warmers.  I might have a problem…

IMAG0511

And last but certainly not least, I have a major sweet tooth.

While in college, I ate frozen yogurt every day. Every. Single. Day.  I could not resist the all-you-can-eat dining hall with the frozen yogurt and the delicious sundae toppings.  I was all over it. Every day. Sometimes both lunch and dinner.  But let’s not limit ourselves to ice cream.  Sometimes, I would make a waffle in the dining hall and, instead of using syrup, I would cover it with caramel sauce and other toppings.  Sometimes I would just fill my bowl with toppings like Reese’s and toffee bits and then cover it all with hot fudge.  No ice cream needed.

Apparently my friends often feel the need to insert food into photos that involve me 🙂

My life motto was learned from the movie Michael.  I remember nothing of the movie except for this one line, which has stuck with me for life: “Remember Sparky, whatever they tell you, you can never have too much sugar.”

I need that bench.

And there you have it folks! Now you know a lot more about my secret (and now not-so-secret) life!

Leave a comment